About RTO8

RTO8 is an independent, industry-led not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting Kawarthas Northumberland tourism.

What is RTO8?

Regional Tourism Organization 8 (RTO8) is funded by the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport (MTCS)

to promote regional tourism activity in the area that is now branded as Kawarthas Northumberland. It was created through the Tourism Competitiveness Study completed in 2009.

The purpose of Kawarthas Northumberland is to support a competitive and sustainable tourism industry, attract visitors, generate economic activity, and create jobs within the region that encompasses:

  • City of Kawartha Lakes
  • City and County of Peterborough
  • County of Northumberland

Our priority strategic tourism focus supports culinary tourism, performing and visual arts, fishing and boating, and visitor experiences on and along the Trent Severn Waterway.

For more information about Regional Tourism Organization system and the 13 regions represented, please visit the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

Peterborough & the Kawarthas, Kawartha Lakes & Northumberland County.

RTO8 works with the existing tourism offices in Kawartha Lakes, Northumberland County and Peterborough & the Kawarthas who are each responsible for product development and marketing to tourism consumers within their areas.

These offices are the lead agencies for local tourism within each of the three sub-regions of Kawarthas Northumberland. Each works in partnership with stakeholders to market and develop their respective sub-regions and provides strategic and practical support to develop and sustain Kawarthas Northumberland – RTO8 as a competitive and sustainable tourism destination.

Click the logos below to be directed to each website.