About RTO8

What is RTO8?

Regional Tourism Organization 8 (RTO8) is funded by the Ontario Ministry of Heritage, Sport, Tourism and Culture Industries to promote regional tourism activity in the area that is now branded as Kawarthas Northumberland. It was created through the Tourism Competitiveness Study completed in 2009.

The Tourism Ladder

Destination Canada markets Canada as a tourism destination to the world to bring visitors to Canada.

Destination Ontario markets the province of Ontario both domestically and internationally as a tourism destination to bring visitors to Ontario.

Regional Tourism Organization 8 (RTO8) markets the Kawarthas Northumberland region as a tourism destination to bring visitors to Kawartha Lakes, Peterborough City / County and Northumberland.

Destination Marketing/Management Organizations (DMO’s) such as Kawartha Lakes, Peterborough & the Kawarthas and Northumberland County market their respective regions as tourism destinations to bring visitors to their region. 

Your role is to bring visitors to your place of business.  You achieve this with market ready consumer products / experiences for purchase that you “leverage up” the ladder.  Work with your DMO (and where applicable also with your Chamber of Commerce) to market your business.  If they don’t know about your product or experience then you’re missing a key marketing opportunity.

Each level on the tourism ladder plays a role in bringing consumers to your door but none is more important than you.  Are you ready to welcome visitors?  Can they purchase your product / experience online? Is your website mobile friendly and up to date with current information? These are just a few of the questions to ask yourself before going to market.

The purpose of Kawarthas Northumberland is to support a competitive and sustainable tourism industry, attract visitors, generate economic activity, and create jobs within the region that encompasses:

  • City of Kawartha Lakes
  • City and County of Peterborough
  • County of Northumberland

Our priority strategic tourism focus continues to be:

  • Solidify partnerships and alignment to leverage the unique sales proposition of the Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site of Canada (TSWNHSC)
  • Define, refine and enrich the TSWNHSC experience, while ensuring there is room to speak about other assets
  • Deepen stakeholder engagement in product/experiential renewal.

For more information about the Regional Tourism Organization system and the 13 regions represented, please visit the Ontario Ministry of Heritage, Sport, Tourism and Culture Industries.

Peterborough & the Kawarthas, Kawartha Lakes & Northumberland County.

RTO8 works with the existing tourism offices in Kawartha Lakes, Northumberland County and Peterborough & the Kawarthas who are each responsible for product development and marketing to tourism consumers within their areas.

These offices are the lead agencies for local tourism within each of the three sub-regions of Kawarthas Northumberland. Each works in partnership with stakeholders to market and develop their respective sub-regions and provides strategic and practical support to develop and sustain Kawarthas Northumberland – RTO8 as a competitive and sustainable tourism destination.

Click the logos below to be directed to each website.